skip navigation

2019 Tim Lally Memorial Diamond League Tournament Champions

By John Mengelkamp, 06/04/19, 10:45PM EDT


Congratulations to the 2019 winners of the Tim Lally Memorial Diamond League Tournament.


After pool play, the Ohio Longhorns JD finished first in the National Division going 4-0.  Release 18u finished as the only 3-1 team in that pool to take the second seed.  In the American pool, the Ohio Longhorns JA, Release 17u and Rawlings Diamond Boys all finished at 3-1.  They all split against each other so by virtue of least runs allowed, Ohio Longhorns JA finished first and Release 17u took the second seed.

In the semifinals on Tuesday, Release 17u brought out the bats and won the semifinal game at Baldwin Wallace by an 11-1 score.  In the 2nd semifinal, Ohio Longhorns JA and Release 18u were tied for most of the game until the 6th where Ohio Longhorns JA pulled away to win 8-6.

In the championship game, the game was tied at zero until Ohio Longhorns JA pushed across a run in the 5th inning.  Shortly afterward, Release 17u had some clutch hits with two outs to score 4.  Each team scored in the 7th for a final of 6-2 Release 17u.


The rain did us in on Sunday as Lakewood High School's turf just would not dry enough to play.  This pushed the games back to Monday.  On Monday, pool play completed with Premier Ohio beating Midwest Stars to punch their ticket to the semifinals.  The other semifinalists were T3 Rays who is the only undefeated team in pool play, Andy's 9ers and Release Baseball who both went 2-1 in pool play.

The first semifinal was played at Avon Lake High School on Monday.  The Andy's 9ers, behind an incredible no hit pitching performance by Elliott Tyminski (Chardon H.S. 2021) beat T3 Rays by a score of 8-0.

In the second semifinal which was played at Lakewood High School, Release brought out the bats.  Led by Dawson Pierce's grand slam (Chagrin Falls H.S. 2021) Release 16u beat Premier Ohio by a score of 11-2.

Here is a link to the results of the Tim Lally Memorial Diamond League Tournament and a picture below:

Connie Mack Division:

Mickey Mantle Division:

Special thank you to Tim Lally Chevrolet and Mike Lally!  

2019 Champions--Release Baseball 17u

Runnerup--Ohio Longhorns JA