***Congratulations to Northern Ohio Baseball for winning the CABA High School World Series. Northern Ohio beat Midwest Pelicans 10-2 in the finals***Diamond Boys win the AABC Connie Mack State Tournament.***Congratulations to Dan McMullen for officially accepting an offer to play at Ohio Northern University***
To promote amateur baseball as a non-profit organization. The Diamond Baseball League was formed to benefit athletes in Northeast Ohio. Team coaches and sponsors have been chosen by their ability to teach positive values to their players both on and off the field with the focal point being sportsmanship and amateur baseball.
The Diamond League board will control all league rules and the decision-making process. Majority vote by the board is needed to overturn a rule. The franchise committee may present any rule proposals to the board which the board must approve by majority vote.
New board members must be approved by a majority vote of the coaches. If the coaches approve, the current board must approve the new member by a majority vote.
Teams must apply to enter the league by the August board meeting date, to which a majority of the board members must agree. The Diamond Baseball League is set up as an invitational league. All teams must reapply to enter the Diamond League for the following season.
Franchises: The Diamond League has set parameters for long-standing quality organizations to become a Diamond League franchise. The franchise agreement lasts two years and at the end of two years, organizations will be re-evaluated before another franchise agreement is offered. An organization must have 4 years in the Diamond League and have proven to be, by the board's standards, a highly competitive program within the Diamond League. The board holds the sole option on which organization and which team(s) in an organization are franchised. More details are in the franchise agreement.
Organization Rule: Organizations that participate in the Diamond League must apply their best team in that age group to the Diamond League. Any organization failing to do so will be suspended or expelled from the Diamond League. The Diamond League board will make that determination at the end of the season.
GENERAL RULES--the Diamond Connie Mack League follows AABC rules with the following exceptions:
1)The Diamond League board will decide on how many teams to accept into the Diamond League.
2)Playing in the Diamond Baseball League excludes all teams from playing in another league. However, teams are encouraged to participate in tournaments.
3)Each team will design their own schedule. Diamond league games take priority over all Independent (non-league) games. The only exceptions to this rule are the prepaid out of town tournaments.
4)There are three mandatory coaches meetings (fall, winter and spring). Failure of attending will result in a $50 fine.
5)A point system will determine the league champion. A team will receive two points for a win, one point for a tie and no points for a loss. The Diamond League champion must play 90% if its league games.
6)Forfeits will not be tolerated. Any team that forfeits 2 or more games will be dismissed from the Diamond League. If a game is forfeited, you must send another forfeit fee of $110 in to the league or risk being removed from the league.
7) Until the first pitch of the game, field maintenance determines whether the game will be cancelled. If there is no field maintenance, the home team will determine the playability of the field. The opposing coach, the league office, and the umpires must be notified on all cancellations. If there are any disputes, the Diamond League holds the option to determine the playability of the field and may rule a forfeit by the home team if the field is ruled playable.
--the latest scheduled starting time is 6:00 unless it is a lighted field. A doubleheader on an unlighted field must start by 3:30 PM.
8)Any game called due to weather, darkness, or any other reason after 4 1/2 innings if home team is winning or if the game is tied, or 5 innings if the visitors are winning is over, with the team ahead winning the game. If the game is tied, each team will receive a tie in the standings.
-games that do not reach the 4 1/2 inning mark will start from the point at which the game was called at a later date.
9)If a game is halted in the middle of an inning after 5 innings of play, the game will revert back to the last whole inning played unless the home team has tied or taken the lead in the bottom half of the inning. If the home team has tied the score, the game ends in a tie. If the home team has taken the lead, the home team wins.
10)If a tie occurs in the standings, head to head competition will be the only tie breaker.
11)Team rosters will have a maximum of 22 players and a minimum of 15 players. The official Diamond League roster for each team is on the website. A player must sign a Diamond League contract and be added to the roster before he is allowed to play in a Diamond League game. Failure to meet the minimum amount of players before your first game will result in a $50 fine plus $110 additional forfeit fee due to the league. The official Diamond League roster must contain at least 50% of its players that are 17 and 18 year old. Age cutoff is May 1st.
11a) A maximum of four players per team may be rostered on a team outside of the Diamond League.
11b) A maximum of eight players from one community may be rostered on a team in the Diamond League Connie Mack Division.
12)Each player must fill out a player contract. Player contracts go into effect when signed and fully completed and received by a league official in the proper amount of time.
-- Before the January coaches meeting: copies of the player contracts are due at the January scheduling meeting. It is expected that you turn in at least 8 player contracts on or by the January scheduling meeting.
--After the January coaches meeting: Players may be added after January until June 30th of a given season. (unless for season ending injury.) A player may only play in a game once a contract is properly signed and completed. It must be either turned in when signed or a photograph may be taken of the contract before the game that the player will participate. Also, the league must be notified via email or text of any pickups. If a photo is taken, then that team has 24 hours to either fax or scan and email the player contract to the Diamond League offices. If a player participates without a player contract and/or these procedures are not followed, it will result in a forfeit.
12b) Once a player signs a Diamond League contract for a team for a given season, he is committed to that team for that season. Players can be released by the head coach of that team by submitting by email or fax to the Diamond League offices. If a player is released, he may be picked up by another team in the Diamond League until June 10th. After June 10th, no player released from league teams can be picked up by another team in the Diamond League.
12c) Teams must prove by December 31st they have at least 8 players to the Diamond League board. If they do not, they will be removed from the Diamond League.
13) Each team must carry with them at all times the player contracts including birth certificates and a current picture of each player along with insurance papers. Only official league contracts will be honored by the league. Copies must be turned into the league president.
14) Players from a lower age level in the Diamond League (Mickey Mantle division) may be brought up only once to the Connie Mack age level, then back down only once to its original team. Exception: A player may be brought up an additional time to replace a player that is out with a season ending injury. That player may not be brought back down to the Mickey Mantle division for any league games.
15)The last day to add a player to a roster is June 30th of any given season except for injury. After June 30th, If a player incurs a season ending injury, that team can pick up a player to replace the injured player. However, the league must receive a doctor's note with the doctor's name and business phone number. Any player picked up after June 30th is ineligible for the NABF Tournament. After June 10th, no player released from league teams can be picked up by another team in our league.
16) A team/organization that picks up a player(s) for a tournament may not roster that player in the following season. This only applies until the last day of the season.
17)All members of the Diamond League must practice a positive code of ethics and sportsmanship. Once a player verbally agrees to participate for one team, all other teams shall honor that player's decision.
18)Team rosters and a complete schedule, with Diamond League games highlighted is due at the spring meeting. Failure to turn in a complete roster and schedule will result in a $10 fine per day. Teams must use the official Diamond League roster located on the website under league forms and submit electronically. A complete schedule with all league games highlighted must be turned in. Unscheduled league games will result in forfeit(s). That schedule is official. You cannot postpone or cancel a game unless both teams agree (except for weather conditions).
19)No league games will be scheduled by phone!!! All games will be scheduled at the January coaches meeting. If two opponents schedule more than the required number of league games against each other, the earliest time(s) the teams play will count as the league game.
20)All umpire fees will be divided evenly among participating teams. Each team must supply two new Diamond League baseballs.
--The team that books and/or rents the field is the home team (including doubleheaders.) Any fee for a playing facility will be paid by the team renting that facility for the game. The home team is responsible for scheduling umpires and communicating any rainout/cancellation to umpires and visiting team.
21)Each team must purchase their own insurance. Insurance companies are listed on the Diamond League website. The Diamond League must be named as additional insured. A copy of this must be turned into the league at the spring meeting date.
22)All home games--league or non-league, must be scheduled through a Diamond League approved umpire association. Teams must notify the league officials at the spring meeting which umpire association is being used. A list of approved umpires is listed on the website. The Diamond League only allows high school certified umpires.
23)Umpire fees of $55 per game are to be paid before the first pitch of a game. Umpire associations that are not contacted about cancellations and schedule changes will be owed the forfeit fee of $110 by the home team. If a game is cancelled at the field by the home team before the first pitch and umpires are present, they will be owed $12 apiece from the home team. If a game fails to complete three innings of play, each umpire will receive $30. It is mandatory that two umpires are scheduled for each game. If only one umpire is present, teams may begin play. If only one umpire completes the full game, he will receive $80. ($40 per team.)
24)The umpire is the league official for each game. There will be no protests of American League rules. All disagreements will be finalized on the field- with the final decision being made by the field umpires for that given game. Any league rule protests need to be communicated to the umpire at the point of infraction, then filed with the league umpire in chief. Exception--for roster protests only, teams have 24 hours from the completion of the game to protest any unrostered players to the league.
25)American league rules will be played (DH for pitcher only). Teams have the option of using an Additional Hitter which is treated as a position. The DH and the AH cannot be exchanged. There is no speed up rule and no re-entry.
26) AABC slide rule: runner is out when the runner does not slide or attempt to avoid a fielder who has the ball and is making a tag (or forceplay). If malicious contact is judged by the umpire, the runner will be ejected from the game.
27) All tobacco products are banned from the field of play. Possession of tobacco will result in ejection from the game.
28)All Diamond League games will be played with a 10 run mercy rule after 5 innings.
29)Each team will have the opportunity to play in the AABC State Tournament. Each team must pre-determine whether they will play in the State Tournament by spring meeting. Also the Diamond League will have opportunities to send multiple teams to NABF or PALOMINO Tournaments.
30)Playing in the AABC, PALOMINO or NABF Regional Tournament also commits your team to play in the AABC, PALOMINO or NABF National Tournament if your team qualifies. Forfeiting games in the AABC, PALOMINO or NABF will result in a suspension and possible fine from the AABC, PALOMINO or NABF League offices. Any team that advances in the NABF, AABC, and/or Palomino Tournaments will receive a tournament allowance as determined by the Diamond League board.
31)The winning team of a league contest will report the score. You may text, email or call the league offices at 440-951-9373. League standings will be kept by the league director receiving scores on a daily basis. Failure to call in a score that evening or if a late game the next morning will result in a $10 fine. Check the league website for standings and schedules. www.diamondleague.org
32)Teams should call or email the league with any tournament championships and any top four finishes. They will be posted on the league website.
33)Equipment: League teams will be required to purchase 3 dozen game balls through the league for use in Diamond League Contests. Players must use a wood or composite wood bat. The DeMarini Composite is allowed for Diamond League games. Teams should carry a medical kit to each game. Catchers equipment must be high school certified.
34) Diamond League lineup cards must be used for Diamond League games. Uniform number, name, and position must be listed on the lineup card. A copy of the lineup card must be given to the umpire. Teams are requested to list all substitutes and their numbers on the lineup card. However the official roster is listed on the Diamond League website.
35) All personnel on field or in dugout must wear a team uniformed (numbered) shirt. Failure to do so will result in ejection from the field of play. The coaches must wear a uniformed shirt or jacket and pants or shorts that are the team colors. It is recommended that coaches shirts and jackets have a readable uniform number. If a coach is ejected that does not have a uniform number that is readable by the umpire, the head coach of that team in addition to the coach that was ejected will be suspended for one game. Each team is allowed one scorekeeper in the dugout that need not have a numbered jersey.
36)Any player ejected from a league game must serve a one league game suspension. If the same player is ejected in a second league game, he must serve a three league game suspension. A third ejection by that same player will result in suspension for the season. That player will not be permitted at any league games. A coach ejected from a second league game will serve a one league game suspension. third ejection will result in a two league game suspension. fourth ejection will result in suspension for the season.
37) Any player initiating a fight shall receive a three game suspension. Any team personnel, including coaches, who leave their positions and participate in a fight shall be ejected and suspended for the team's next three league games. A second offense will result in suspension for the season. Exceptions to rule: if a player involved in a fight while remaining at their position on the field is judged to be acting in self-defense. If a player or coach leaves their position and makes contact with their own players/teammates in an attempt to prevent a fight.
38)Any conduct detrimental to the league will subject your team or individual participants (players/coaches) of the team to probation, suspension or possible dismissal from the league. In addition, failure to adhere to any rule will result in forfeit, team probation or possible dismissal from the league.
39)The league fees for the 2014 season are the following: $275 league fee (non-refundable)
-$110 forfeit fee (refundable)
40)League fees must be paid by the October coaches meeting. Failure to pay will result in losing entry or reentry into the league.
-- any fees, including league fees, franchise fees, tournament fees, or baseball money must be paid when due. Late fees of $25 per month will be assessed at the end of the month and will accumulate at the end of every subsequent month for any unpaid fees.
41)The league fee covers the championship team trophy, league tournament, league meetings, office supplies, postage, and tournament allowance for league champions and AABC Regional Qualifiers.
Analytics indicate that this site receives hundreds of hits daily. Reach a broad base of baseball enthusiasts and others throughout Northeast Ohio by advertising here. Build brand awareness, support for your favorite team, and more... contact Dominic C. Gruttadauria @ 440-942-3113 or email